← Tender-alert comparison
Deep provider audit

Open Opportunities

Open Opportunities is a global procurement-data and tender-alert business operated by Ticon UK Ltd, selling a web search/alert product and a separately priced data API. Its most defensible depth is transparent ingestion engineering: more than 900 source claims, twice-daily collection, public daily data-quality reports, document capture, notice deduplication and standards-led enrichment; its weaker areas are buyer/supplier identity, bid/requirements workflow and dated legal/security documentation.

At a glance

What is publicly established

Public pricingYearly-billed Solo: £120/€140/$160 per user per month (£1,440/€1,680/$1,920 annually). Yearly-billed Team: £259/€300/$342 per team per month (£3,108/€3,600/$4,104 annually). API: from £5,000/€5,800/$6,700 per year. The pricing page also offers a monthly toggle, but the reviewed text did not expose its monthly-billed amounts.
Billing basismixed
Named portals10
Official productOpen provider site ↗
Normalized features

Capability-by-capability evidence

Yes means the complete normalized capability is available in at least one current plan. Partial means the implementation is adjacent, incomplete or materially narrower. Missing public evidence defaults to not offered.

AI or semantic matching

Yes

Intent Search uses Open Opportunities' own AI model to score and rank results across geographies, languages and currencies, and is described as assessing document meaning rather than only keyword occurrence.

Intent Search ↗AI for bid writers guide ↗

Buyer profiles

Not offered

Users can search or monitor buyer names and inspect past records, winners, values and buying patterns. The provider documents notice-level deduplication and field validation, but not buyer-entity resolution or structured cross-notice buyer profiles.

Sales strategy ↗Search user guide ↗Data quality reports ↗

Supplier profiles

Not offered

The contract database can be filtered by supplier name to find awards, but the reviewed pages do not establish deliberately built cross-notice supplier entities, identity resolution or structured supplier profile pages.

Search by supplier ↗

Similar contracts

Partial

Open Opportunities' documented workflow tells users to manually search for similar contracts and review similar past tenders, buyer history and values. The reviewed pages do not establish an automatic related-contract panel surfaced against a notice or profile.

Sales strategy ↗

Buyer document corpus

Not offered

The platform gathers notice attachments and planning notices, but the reviewed pages did not establish buyer strategies, minutes, budgets or other non-notice buyer-authored document collections.

Buyer requirements

Not offered

Records and attachments expose source notice content, but the reviewed pages did not establish extracted or organised participation conditions, certifications, policies or evaluation criteria.

Requirements planning

Not offered

The provider publishes strategic planning guidance and offers planning notices, but the reviewed pages did not establish an in-product gap, readiness, evidence or requirements-planning workflow.

Bid writing

Not offered

Open Opportunities publishes guidance about using AI for bid writing, but the reviewed product pages did not establish response drafting, an answer library, compliance matrix or managed writing as a platform feature.

Comparable pricing

Monthly and annual plans

PlanPay monthly
per month
Pay annually
per year
Annual effective
per month
BasisIncluded usersNotes
Solo (GBP annual billing)Not published£1,440£120per seat1 userThe page shows £120 per user/month only in its yearly-billing view and an annual payment of £1,440. The numeric month-to-month price is not exposed in the reviewed text.
Solo (EUR annual billing)Not published€1,680€140per seat1 userThe page shows €140 per user/month only in its yearly-billing view and an annual payment of €1,680. The numeric month-to-month price is not exposed in the reviewed text.
Solo (USD annual billing)Not publishedUS$1,920US$160per seat1 userThe page shows $160 per user/month only in its yearly-billing view and an annual payment of $1,920. The numeric month-to-month price is not exposed in the reviewed text.
Team (GBP annual billing)Not published£3,108£259per teamUnlimited usersThe page shows £259 per team/month only in its yearly-billing view and an annual payment of £3,108. The numeric month-to-month price is not exposed in the reviewed text.
Team (EUR annual billing)Not published€3,600€300per teamUnlimited usersThe page shows €300 per team/month only in its yearly-billing view and an annual payment of €3,600. The numeric month-to-month price is not exposed in the reviewed text.
Team (USD annual billing)Not publishedUS$4,104US$342per teamUnlimited usersThe page shows $342 per team/month only in its yearly-billing view and an annual payment of $4,104. The numeric month-to-month price is not exposed in the reviewed text.
API (GBP)Not published£5,000£416.67per organisationUnlimited usersFrom price for standard yearly usage; high-volume pricing is agreed separately. The page says monthly billing can be chosen but publishes no numeric monthly amount.
API (EUR)Not published€5,800€483.33per organisationUnlimited usersFrom price for standard yearly usage; high-volume pricing is agreed separately. The page says monthly billing can be chosen but publishes no numeric monthly amount.
API (USD)Not publishedUS$6,700US$558.33per organisationUnlimited usersFrom price for standard yearly usage; high-volume pricing is agreed separately. The page says monthly billing can be chosen but publishes no numeric monthly amount.

Trial: 7-day free trial with no credit card. Annual website subscriptions also advertise a 30-day money-back guarantee. The API offers a small anonymised sandbox on request. VAT: VAT or other tax treatment is not publicly stated.

Open Opportunities pricing ↗
Deep audit

Business and product

Legal identity and maturity

Strong evidence

Companies House records Ticon UK Limited (04962733) as active, incorporated on 13 November 2003, with IT services, data processing/hosting and consultancy activities; 2025 accounts are filed as a micro company. Open Opportunities identifies Ticon UK Ltd as its legal entity and says the business began as a procurement consultancy, launched the global service in 2016 and relaunched OpenOpps.com in 2025.

Companies House: Ticon UK Limited ↗Open Opportunities about ↗Open Opportunities history ↗

Target customer and use case

Strong evidence

Solo and Team serve suppliers and business-development teams seeking global opportunity discovery, alerts, history and competitor/expiry research. The API tier targets developers, data teams, bid-automation products, dashboards and CRM/alert-routing integrations. The product is strongest for organisations that value geographic breadth and raw structured data rather than in-platform bid production.

Open Opportunities pricing ↗Open Opportunities API ↗Open Opportunities about ↗

Commercial model

Strong evidence

Current annual pricing is Solo at £1,440/€1,680/$1,920 for one user and Team at £3,108/€3,600/$4,104 for unlimited users; the API starts at £5,000/€5,800/$6,700 per year with high-volume terms agreed separately. Solo limits alerts, saved searches and history; Team expands all three and adds CSV, onboarding and unlimited users. A seven-day no-card trial and 30-day annual money-back guarantee are advertised; numeric monthly-billing prices are not exposed despite monthly billing being available.

Open Opportunities pricing ↗Open Opportunities subscription terms ↗

Security, support and onboarding

Weak evidence

Current support pages offer self-serve videos on Solo, onboarding and chat on Team, video calls, analyst help and SLA-backed enterprise response times; the trial is seven days without a card. However, the public privacy page still centres the Data Protection Act 1998, allows processing outside the EEA, warns that transmission security cannot be guaranteed and does not state encryption, hosting, access control, MFA, subprocessors, backups, incident response, certifications or data-retention periods. This is materially weaker diligence evidence than the data-engineering transparency.

Open Opportunities legal and privacy ↗Open Opportunities pricing ↗Open Opportunities support ↗
Deep audit

Data and discovery engine

Sources and coverage method

Strong evidence

The provider claims 900-plus government and public-sector sources across 180-plus countries, including federal, sub-national and low-value coverage, and publishes a directory of 100 named examples. It gathers tenders, contracts, prior/planning notices and documents, uses OCDS-aligned structured data, adds CPV categories, countries, languages, currencies and regional groups, and exposes provenance/source links. The public directory is illustrative rather than a complete 900-source inventory.

Open Opportunities sources ↗Open Opportunities coverage ↗Open Opportunities about ↗Open Opportunities pricing and enrichment ↗

Ingestion and freshness

Strong evidence

Release notes say tender and contract collection runs twice daily, overnight and mid-morning. A public daily quality audit checks source freshness and expected volume, matches and merges cross-portal duplicates, captures and indexes attachments, validates/back-fills buyer/value/deadline/CPV/country fields, and holds back or flags problematic records. Daily reports expose processed, held-back, flagged and document-update counts, but do not publish per-source service levels or independent audit assurance.

Open Opportunities data-quality reports ↗Twice-daily collection release note ↗Example daily quality report ↗

Matching and qualification

Strong evidence

Intent Search uses Open Opportunities' own AI model to interpret meaning across languages and rank results rather than relying only on literal keyword occurrence. Users can combine intent or keyword search with category, buyer, supplier, geography, value and notice-type filters, then save searches as alerts. The provider does not publish training data, embeddings, precision/recall, score calibration or customer-specific evaluation results.

Open Opportunities Intent Search ↗Open Opportunities product ↗Search user guide ↗

Historical and award depth

Strong evidence

Open Opportunities reports collecting procurement data since 2006, storing 11.4 million documents and exposing tenders, contracts, awards and planning notices. Team includes full history while Solo is limited to 90 days; award records expose supplier, buyer, value and award dates, with API access to the wider structured corpus. History and completeness still vary with what each source publishes.

Open Opportunities pricing ↗Open Opportunities about ↗Data feature breakdown ↗
Deep audit

Intelligence depth

Buyer entity investment

Weak evidence

Records carry buyer fields and links, users can search buyer names and inspect buying patterns, and quality checks validate/back-fill the buyer field. The documented deduplication is notice-level; no first-party page establishes canonical buyer IDs, name aliases, organisational hierarchies, merger handling or cross-notice entity-resolution metrics.

Open Opportunities data-quality reports ↗Open Opportunities sales workflow ↗

Supplier entity investment

Weak evidence

Users can filter awards by supplier name and monitor competitors, but the reviewed pages do not establish canonical supplier IDs, Companies House or registry matching, alias resolution, duplicate winners or structured supplier pages. Notice deduplication should not be mistaken for supplier entity resolution.

Search by supplier ↗Open Opportunities data-quality reports ↗

Renewal-signal method

Strong evidence

The Team plan exposes expiring contracts awarded in the last five years, and source records include contract start/end dates and award details. Users can search or alert on expiries and competitors. Public documentation does not establish calculated expiry when source dates are missing, extension-option handling, modification/termination monitoring, confidence scores or confirmation that a replacement tender has actually been published.

Open Opportunities pricing ↗Open Opportunities coverage fields ↗Open Opportunities home ↗

Requirements-planning method

Not found

Planning notices support early opportunity discovery and the provider publishes bid guidance, but no in-product requirements extraction, compliance matrix, gap/evidence workflow, owner assignment, remediation plan, deadline tracking or readiness state was established.

Workflow and integrations

Strong evidence

The web product provides saved searches, daily alerts, bookmarks/watchlists, record sharing and Team CSV downloads up to 100 rows; Team has unlimited users. The separately priced REST API returns JSON, documents and daily updates for CRM, dashboard, Teams/Slack alert routing and research automation, with a sandbox and documented rate limits. The web app does not establish assignments, comments, bid stages or direct submission.

Open Opportunities pricing ↗Open Opportunities API ↗Expert API launch ↗
Coverage evidence

Named portals and broader claims

Contracts Finder

Open Opportunities lists Contracts Finder among the UK sources it monitors.

Data sources ↗

Public Contracts Scotland

Open Opportunities lists Public Contracts Scotland among the UK sources it monitors.

Data sources ↗

Sell2Wales

Open Opportunities lists Sell2Wales among the UK sources it monitors.

Data sources ↗

SAM.gov

Open Opportunities lists SAM.gov among the North American sources it monitors.

Data sources ↗

United Nations Global Marketplace

Open Opportunities lists UNGM among the international-organisation sources it monitors.

Data sources ↗

AusTender

Open Opportunities lists AusTender among the Asia-Pacific sources it monitors.

Data sources ↗

CanadaBuys

Open Opportunities lists CanadaBuys among the North American sources it monitors.

Data sources ↗
  • Open Opportunities claims more than 900 government procurement sources across more than 180 countries, updated twice daily; its public source directory shows 100 named examples.Data sources ↗Coverage ↗
  • Open Opportunities claims 198 UK sources for tenders and contracts, but the reviewed public source directory names five UK portals rather than publishing all 198.Coverage ↗Data sources ↗
Buyer diligence

Limitations, contradictions and questions

Material limitations

  • Only 100 illustrative sources are named publicly against the 900-plus coverage claim; per-source history, latency and completeness are not contractually published on the reviewed pages.Open Opportunities sources ↗Open Opportunities coverage ↗
  • Notice-level deduplication and buyer-field validation do not establish buyer or supplier entity resolution; competitor searches may remain sensitive to naming variants.Open Opportunities data-quality reports ↗
  • Public privacy/security documentation is outdated and lacks modern control detail or independent assurance, despite the product handling accounts, searches and integrations.Open Opportunities legal and privacy ↗
  • The product does not establish buyer-authored non-notice document intelligence, extracted requirements planning or bid drafting; API automations require customers to build or operate their own tooling.Open Opportunities API ↗

First-party contradictions

Questions to ask

  1. Can Open Opportunities provide the complete 900-plus source register with history start, last successful run, typical latency and document completeness for each source?
  2. How are buyer and supplier names canonicalised across languages, company suffixes, reorganisations and duplicate award records?
  3. How do expiring-contract alerts handle extensions, contract modifications, early termination and source records with missing or estimated end dates?
  4. Which current privacy policy governs the service, where is customer data hosted, and what encryption, MFA, subprocessors, retention, incident-response and independent assurance controls apply?
  5. What are the actual month-to-month Solo, Team and API prices, renewal uplift rules and API rate/volume limits?
  6. Can Team users collaborate beyond sharing and bookmarks, and can all account searches, records and watchlists be exported on exit?
  7. What precision/recall evidence exists for Intent Search on a customer's own relevant and irrelevant tender history?
Verification boundary: This profile organises provider statements and official records. It is not an independent product test. Verify live notices, data completeness, contract terms and a real workflow before purchase.