← Tender-alert comparison
Deep provider audit

Tenders Direct

Tenders Direct is a mature, human-curated UK and Ireland tender-alert service operated by Proactis Tenders Ltd, combining notice discovery with a searchable archive, competitor and advance-alert intelligence, opportunity management, integrations and separately sold bid services. Its most defensible differentiation is daily analyst sourcing, peer review and category matching rather than proprietary AI; public contractual material, however, conflicts with the current product page on trial length, users, archive depth and some plan entitlements.

At a glance

What is publicly established

Public pricingAt the one-year billing selection shown on the provider page: Basic £1,359, Core £2,044 and Premium £2,319. The interface also offers two- and three-year billing selections; bespoke packages are available.
Billing basisper team
Named portals5
Official productOpen provider site ↗
Normalized features

Capability-by-capability evidence

Yes means the complete normalized capability is available in at least one current plan. Partial means the implementation is adjacent, incomplete or materially narrower. Missing public evidence defaults to not offered.

Buyer profiles

Not offered

Buyer activity can be analysed in the historical database, but the reviewed pages did not establish structured buyer profile pages.

Supplier profiles

Partial

Competitor Tracker exposes any named business's award history, values, buyer relationships, market share and renewal dates and calls this a competitor profile. No supplier-name canonicalisation, company-number matching, aliases or deduplication method is published.

Tenders Direct Competitor Tracker ↗

Renewals

Yes

Advance Tender Alerts monitor contract expiry dates and provide up to 18 months' notice of potential re-tendering opportunities. The searchable database exposes historical awards, contract durations and likely re-tender dates.

Tenders Direct subscriptions and features ↗

Similar contracts

Not offered

The provider offers more than ten years of searchable notices, but the reviewed pages did not establish comparable past contracts surfaced automatically against a current notice or profile.

Buyer document corpus

Not offered

The reviewed public pages do not establish a full searchable corpus of buyer-authored documents designed to surface upcoming work.

Tenders Direct FOI tool ↗

Buyer requirements

Yes

The separate current managed bid-writing service establishes the buyer's requirements and checks that every required item is considered and included. This is a human service rather than automated extraction and is priced separately from the alert subscription.

Tenders Direct bid-writing service ↗

Award history

Yes

All subscriptions include a tender database with contracts and awards; the feature page says it contains more than ten years of notices with historical award notices, previous suppliers, contract values and durations.

Tenders Direct subscriptions and features ↗

Frameworks

Yes

The Searchable Notice Database has a dedicated contract-type filter for Framework Agreements and Dynamic Procurements, enabling current framework and dynamic-market discovery across the historical corpus.

Tenders Direct searchable notice database ↗

Competitor tracking

Yes

Competitor Tracker identifies competitor awards, sends alerts when named competitors win work, and analyses market share and buyer activity. All three published paid plans list competitor tracking alerts.

Tenders Direct subscriptions and features ↗

Team workflow

Yes

Opportunity Manager centralises the bid pipeline, assigns tasks, tracks stages and deadlines, and supports team collaboration. Published paid plans include unlimited users.

Tenders Direct subscriptions and features ↗

Bid writing

Yes

Tenders Direct provides a separate managed bid-writing service that writes proposals, structures responses, checks required information and debriefs after submission. Its fee is tailored and not included in the published alert-subscription price.

Tenders Direct bid-writing service ↗
Comparable pricing

Monthly and annual plans

PlanPay monthly
per month
Pay annually
per year
Annual effective
per month
BasisIncluded usersNotes
7-day Free TrialNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedper team1 userPublished as £0 for seven days; it is not a monthly or annual billing schedule. Card requirement is not stated.
BasicNot published£1,359£113.25per teamUnlimited usersPrice shown with the one-year billing selection. One saved search. VAT treatment is not stated.
CoreNot published£2,044£170.33per teamUnlimited usersPrice shown with the one-year billing selection. Five saved searches. VAT treatment is not stated.
PremiumNot published£2,319£193.25per teamUnlimited usersPrice shown with the one-year billing selection. 100 saved searches. VAT treatment is not stated.
BespokeNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedunknownNot publicly statedBespoke packages are offered for unique requirements; no numeric price or billing basis is published.

Trial: Seven-day free trial. Payment-card requirement is not publicly stated. VAT: VAT treatment is not publicly stated beside the reviewed subscription prices.

Tenders Direct subscriptions and features ↗
Deep audit

Business and product

Legal identity and maturity

Strong evidence

The brand identifies Proactis Tenders Ltd as its operator and Companies House records company SC115090 as active and incorporated on 12 December 1988. The company page says Tenders Direct was established in 1993 and is part of the Proactis group, giving it a substantially longer operating history than newer alert tools.

Tenders Direct company history ↗Companies House: Proactis Tenders Ltd ↗

Target customer and use case

Strong evidence

The service targets suppliers pursuing UK, Irish and European public-sector work, from SMEs needing focused alerts through teams using opportunity management, competitor research, integrations and managed bid support. Published plans scale mainly by saved searches and intelligence depth rather than user count, while consultancy services serve organisations needing hands-on bid preparation.

Tenders Direct product and plans ↗Tenders Direct tender-alert service ↗Tenders Direct bid-writing service ↗

Commercial model

Strong evidence

The live one-year table publishes Basic £1,359, Core £2,044 and Premium £2,319 for unlimited users, with a seven-day trial and bespoke options. Terms describe annual commitment, automatic renewal, VAT-exclusive fees, 28-day invoices, cancellation before renewal, no cooling-off and a possible £299 administration charge; renewal price may rise by up to 10%. Several commercial terms conflict with the live table.

Tenders Direct current pricing ↗Tenders Direct subscription terms ↗

Security, support and onboarding

Strong evidence

The current product page states ISO 27001:2022 certification, dedicated account management, onboarding and weekday support. Subscription terms include data-processing clauses, identify Redcentric as a subprocessor, provide audit rights and require breach notification. Public evidence does not establish SSO/MFA, backup objectives, penetration-test results, a public status page or contractual uptime SLA.

Tenders Direct product, support and ISO claim ↗Tenders Direct subscription and data terms ↗
Deep audit

Data and discovery engine

Sources and coverage method

Strong evidence

The provider says specialists monitor more than 500 sources daily, including official UK, Ireland and OJEU sources, procurement portals and direct buyer sites, and source more than 1,700 opportunities each week. The five UK national services are explicitly named in its guidance, but no exhaustive source register or source-level completeness measure is published.

Tenders Direct sourcing and review ↗Tenders Direct alert coverage ↗Tenders Direct procurement-source guidance ↗

Ingestion and freshness

Strong evidence

Analysts source notices every working day, analyse requirements, rewrite titles, assign more than 2,000 categories and peer-review each record before matching. The database says it is updated daily. This is unusually explicit human quality control, but public pages do not quantify publication-to-alert latency, weekend coverage, amendment handling, failed-source monitoring or recall.

Tenders Direct sourcing and peer review ↗Tenders Direct searchable notice database ↗

Matching and qualification

Strong evidence

Matching is a complete current capability based on a customer business profile and human-applied industry categories and keywords. Analysts review the underlying requirement before assigning categories, reducing dependence on inconsistent buyer CPV coding and titles. The provider does not claim semantic models or publish match-rate validation, so this is evidence of curated profile matching rather than AI.

Tenders Direct sourcing and matching ↗Tenders Direct alert profiles ↗

Historical and award depth

Strong evidence

The current product and database pages advertise more than ten years of searchable notices and complete ten-year award histories for tracked competitors, with values, buyers and market-share analysis. The subscription terms instead say Basic searches only the previous five years, so the archive may be plan-limited or the terms may be stale.

Tenders Direct searchable notice database ↗Tenders Direct competitor tracker ↗Tenders Direct subscription terms ↗
Deep audit

Intelligence depth

Buyer entity investment

Weak evidence

Search, award history and competitor views can be filtered by buyer and show buying relationships, but reviewed first-party material does not describe canonical buyer records, authority aliases, departmental hierarchies, buyer identifiers or merge-quality controls. Buyer pages and filters therefore do not establish a resolved cross-notice buyer entity layer.

Tenders Direct competitor tracker ↗Tenders Direct searchable database ↗

Supplier entity investment

Moderate evidence

Competitor Tracker builds named-business profiles from up to ten years of awards, showing buyer relationships, values, market share and alerts. No Companies House identifier, trading-name aliasing, subsidiary/group mapping or entity-resolution accuracy is described, so the feature is useful cross-award aggregation but not proven canonical supplier identity.

Tenders Direct competitor tracker ↗

Renewal-signal method

Strong evidence

Advance Tender Alerts use published contract end dates to identify potential future opportunities 3, 6, 12 or 18 months ahead. This is a complete current higher-tier feature, but the provider correctly frames the records as potential rather than confirmed procurements and does not publish rules for extensions, early termination, framework call-offs or historical precision. Entitlement wording conflicts across current pages.

Tenders Direct advance tender alerts ↗Tenders Direct current plan table ↗

Requirements-planning method

Moderate evidence

Opportunity Manager supplies a durable pipeline with stages, tasks, deadlines, documents and team ownership, while separately contracted bid-writing and bid-management consultants analyse tender requirements, plan responses and review compliance. The reviewed software does not establish requirement-by-requirement extraction linked to gaps, reusable evidence, owners and readiness, so requirements planning remains adjacent/incomplete even though managed buyer-requirement handling is available.

Tenders Direct Opportunity Manager ↗Tenders Direct bid-writing service ↗Tenders Direct bid-management service ↗

Workflow and integrations

Strong evidence

Opportunity Manager supports unlimited users, stages, tasks, deadlines and document storage across subscriptions. Integrate advertises Slack at Basic and Salesforce, HubSpot, Zapier, Slack and Microsoft Teams in Complete; exports include PDF, Excel and CSV in relevant products. No public API schema, webhooks, rate limits or integration field maps were found.

Tenders Direct Opportunity Manager ↗Tenders Direct integrations ↗Tenders Direct competitor export ↗
Coverage evidence

Named portals and broader claims

Public Contracts Scotland

The provider names Public Contracts Scotland as the Scottish national source in its procurement-source guidance and positions Tenders Direct as the consolidated UK service.

Tenders Direct procurement-source guidance ↗
  • The provider says it scans more than 500 sources daily and provides every UK, Ireland and OJEU opportunity, including below-threshold notices.Tenders Direct overview ↗
  • The Tenders Direct Guarantee says the team monitors every known public procurement portal and matches notices to the customer's business profile every day.Tenders Direct Guarantee ↗
Buyer diligence

Limitations, contradictions and questions

Material limitations

  • Human curation is well described, but no measured source recall, match precision, notification latency or category-assignment error rate is published.Tenders Direct sourcing and review ↗
  • Buyer and supplier aggregation lacks a published identity-resolution method, so aliases, group companies and reorganised authorities may fragment histories.Tenders Direct competitor tracker ↗
  • Advance alerts are potential opportunities inferred from contract end dates and are not assurance that the buyer will re-tender.Tenders Direct advance tender alerts ↗
  • FOI-sourced winning submissions, prices and pipeline information depend on buyer disclosure and statutory exemptions; they are not guaranteed data fields.Tenders Direct FOI tool ↗
  • Bid writing, bid management and full requirements handling are separately contracted services, not native functionality included in the tender-alert subscription.Tenders Direct bid-writing service ↗

First-party contradictions

Questions to ask

  1. Which current document governs seats, trial duration, archive years, Advance Alert entitlement and renewal pricing where the product table and terms conflict?
  2. Provide a complete source register, daily monitoring controls, amendment/backfill process, measured source recall and publication-to-alert latency by source type.
  3. How are buyer and supplier identities canonicalised across names, subsidiaries, public-body reorganisations and Companies House records?
  4. How are extensions, terminations and call-offs handled in Advance Alerts, and what historical conversion and false-positive rates are measured at each horizon?
  5. Which Opportunity Manager objects, exports and integration fields are available per plan, and is there a supported API or webhook roadmap?
  6. Provide the ISO 27001 certificate scope, DPA/subprocessor list, SSO/MFA controls, penetration-test summary, backup/RTO/RPO and service-availability history.
  7. What services, deliverables, ownership of work product, revision limits and pricing apply to bid writing, bid management and FOI support?
Verification boundary: This profile organises provider statements and official records. It is not an independent product test. Verify live notices, data completeness, contract terms and a real workflow before purchase.